Andrew Gonzalez
McGill University
Montreal, Canada

Maria Cecilia Londoño
Alexander von Humboldt Institute
Bogota, Colombia

Secretariat (hosted at McGill University, Montreal, Canada)

Katie Millette
Executive Secretary

Jean-Michel Lord
Developer and Scrum Master

Veronica Wrobel
Communications and Engagement Officer

Management Committee

GEO BON operations; the MC meets monthly to discuss technical and substantive issues regarding GEO BON implementation and coordination.

Includes the members of the GEO BON Secretariat, the Co-Chairs, and other Officers; 3 year terms, renewable once.

Implementation Committee

The IC implements the deliverables and the implementation plan of GEO BON. It approves the annual budget and has an executive function. The IC meets by phone quarterly and in person once a year.

Those actively engaged in implementing GEO BON including all members of Management Committee, WG Leads or Task Force Leads and Leads of BON’s. New members must be confirmed by the peers in the Implementation Committee.

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board meets once a year, together with the Implementation Committee, to provide strategic direction and feedback on GEO BON and helps to find funding. Members of the Advisory Board are elected by GEO BON’s management committee every 3 years and are renewable once.

Advisory board members are representatives of organizations, governments, and experts, in a geographically balanced composition as well as other influential individuals with good ties to funding.


Name Institution Country
Neville Ash UN Environment Programme World Conservation Monitoring Centre (UNEP-WCMC) United Kingdom
Patricia (Patty) Balvanera National Autonomous University of Mexico Mexico
Jillian Campbell Secretariat for the Convention on Biological Diversity (SCBD) Canada
Yana Gevorgyan Group on Earth Observations (GEO) Switzerland
David Harper Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) Canada
Tim Hirsch Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF) Denmark
Patricia Koleff Comisión Nacional para el Conocimiento y Uso de la Biodiversidad (CONABIO) Mexico
Amy Luers Microsoft United States of America
Emily McKenzie Task Force on Nature-related Financial Disclosures (TNFD) Global
Marc Paganini European Space Agency (ESA) Italy
Steven Ramage Committee on Earth Observation Satellites (CEOS) Switzerland
Woody Turner US National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) United States of America